Led Zeppelin’s best album, Physical Graffiti, to get deluxe box-set treatment


By Steve Newton

Led Zeppelin announced the other day that it will release a super-deluxe boxed-set edition of its best album, 1975‘s Physical Graffiti.


The package–newly remastered by Jimmy Page and featuring previously unreleased tracks–will hit stores on February 24, 40 years to the day after the release of the original.

In case you forgot what was so great about it, here’s a reminder:

And here’s some promotional bumph from the Zep website:

Generally regarded as one of the greatest double albums of all time, the original 15 tracks represent a creative tour de force that explores the band’s dynamic musical range, from the driving rock of “Custard Pie” and acoustic arrangement of “Bron-Y-Aur” to the Eastern raga of “Kashmir” and funky groove of “Trampled Under Foot.”

The companion audio disc that accompanies the deluxe edition of Physical Graffiti has seven unreleased tracks, including rough mixes of “In My Time Of Dying” and “Houses Of The Holy,” as well as an early mix of “Trampled Under Foot” called “Brandy & Coke.”

All the unreleased companion tracks offer fans a chance to hear well-known songs from a different perspective, including the Sunset Sound mix of “Boogie With Stu” and “Driving Through Kashmir,” a rough orchestra mix of the band’s eight minute opus “Kashmir.” Also featured is “Everybody Makes It Through,” a strikingly different early version of “In The Light” with alternate lyrics.


Track Listing

Disc One
01. “Custard Pie”
02. “The Rover”
03. “In My Time Of Dying”
04. “Houses Of The Holy”
05. “Trampled Under Foot”
06. “Kashmir”

Disc Two
01. “In The Light”
02. “Bron-Yr-Aur”
03. “Down By The Seaside”
04. “Ten Years Gone”
05. “Night Flight”
06. “The Wanton Song”
07. “Boogie With Stu”
08. “Black Country Woman”
09. “Sick Again”

Companion Audio Disc
01. “Brandy & Coke” (Trampled Under Foot – Initial Rough Mix)
02. “Sick Again” (Early Version)
03. “In My Time Of Dying” (Initial Rough Mix)
04. “Houses Of The Holy” (Rough Mix With Overdubs)
05. “Everybody Makes It Through” (In The Light Early Version/In Transit)
06. “Boogie With Stu” (Sunset Sound Mix)
07. “Driving Through Kashmir” (Kashmir Rough Orchestra Mix)



One thought on “Led Zeppelin’s best album, Physical Graffiti, to get deluxe box-set treatment

  1. Better than Zep IV? On which planet? Not this planet. Graffitit is a very good album, but a little overstuffed. One disk would have been enough. Zep IV had to get its own Billboard chart ‘cos it wouldn’t go away. And is still on and off again on that chart.

Leave a Reply