Black Sabbath reissues bring back memories of “War Pigs”-inspired furniture abuse


By Steve Newton

I have hazy memories of the very first albums I ever owned, but there’s three that stick out in my mind: Alice Cooper‘s Billion Dollar Babies, Deep Purple‘s Fireball, and Black Sabbath‘s Paranoid.

I used to play the hell out of them on an ancient stereo downstairs in my parents’ “rumpus room”. And my favourite hobby was using drumsticks to pulverize a big old red-velvet armchair while trying to copy Bill Ward’s colossal drumming on “War Pigs”.


Anyone else who remembers studying Paranoid‘s cover art and trying to figure out what the hell that wacky guy wearing the blue gonch, pink tights, and motorcycle helmet was all about–stepping out from behind that tree and brandishing that sword and shield–should know that a deluxe vinyl edition of that monumental 1970 metal album is due for release early next year. Also available will be reissues of Sabbath’s self-titled debut album, also from 1970, and the ’71 earbuster Master of Reality.

As well as the 2012 remaster of the original album, each rerelease includes a second disc that features outtakes, instrumental, and alternate versions previously unreleased in North America.

I for one can’t wait for the instrumental version of “War Pigs”. Maybe that means there’s even more drumming on it. And I know just the ratty armchair that’s overdue for a good thumping.

The deluxe editions–which will also come in CD versions for folks with no class–will be released on January 22, two days after the band launches its final tour, which hits Vancouver on March 7.

Track Listings


Disc One

  1. “Black Sabbath”
  2. “The Wizard”
  3. “Wasp/Behind The Wall Of Sleep/Bassically/N.I.B.”
  4. “Wicked World”
  5. “A Bit Of Finger/Sleeping Village/Warning”

Disc Two

  1. “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)”
  2. “Black Sabbath” – Studio Outtake *
  3. “Black Sabbath” – Instrumental *
  4. “The Wizard” – Studio Outtake *
  5. “N.I.B.” – Alternate Version *
  6. “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)” – Alternate Version *
  7. “Sleeping Village” (Intro) – Alternate Version *
  8. “Warning” (Part 1) – Studio Outtake *


Disc One

  1. “War Pigs / Luke’s Wall”
  2. “Paranoid”
  3. “Planet Caravan”
  4. “Iron Man”
  5. “Electric Funeral”
  6. “Hand Of Doom”
  7. “Rat Salad”
  8. “Jack The Stripper/Fairies Wear Boots”

Disc Two

1.     “War Pigs” – Instrumental *

2.  “Paranoid” – Alternate Lyrics *

3.  “Planet Caravan” – Alternate Lyrics *

4.  “Iron Man” – Instrumental *

5.   “Electric Funeral” – Instrumental *

6.  “Hand Of Doom” – Instrumental *

7. “Rat Salad” – Alternate Mix *

8. “Fairies Wear Boots” – Instrumental *


Disc One

  1.  “Sweet Leaf”
  2. “After Forever”
  3. “Embryo”
  4. “Children Of The Grave”
  5. “Orchid”
  6. “Lord Of This World”
  7. “Solitude”
  8. “Into The Void”

Disc Two

1.  “Weevil Woman ’71” *

2. “Sweet Leaf” – Studio Outtake *

3. “After Forever” – Studio Outtake Instrumental *

4. “Children Of The Grave”– Studio Outtake *

5. “Children Of The Grave” – Studio Outtake Instrumental *

6. “Orchid” – Studio Outtake *

7. “Lord Of This World” – Studio Outtake *

8. “Solitude” – Studio Outtake *

9. “Into The Void (Spanish Sid)” – Studio Outtake *

* previously unreleased in North America



One thought on “Black Sabbath reissues bring back memories of “War Pigs”-inspired furniture abuse

  1. Very cool! Looking forward to hearing this! The original cover art for the Paranoid album was banned and the label found it offensive with having cover art with war pigs! Timless music!

Leave a Reply