Pandora’s Box conjures vivid memories of Aerosmith in the seventies


By Steve Newton

This scribbler’s teenage memories are filled with happy thoughts of Aerosmith, the best thing from Boston since Bobby Orr. There’s the time me and some pals hijacked somebody’s dad’s car and travelled down to Seattle’s Kingdome to join 60,000 other maniacs for a show on the Rocks tour (Jeff Beck was the warm-up!), or the endless hours practising air guitar to Joe Perry’s wicked leads in “Train Kept A-Rollin’ ”, or the feeling of spite when someone else in the high-school gang was the first to score a copy of Toys in the Attic.

Yessiree, bands like Aerosmith were few and far between back then, and, in that respect, things haven’t changed much. That’s why a 52-track, 3-CD collection like Pandora’s Box is such a damned appealing prospect for anyone who grew up in the ’70s and had a taste for classy raunch.

Not only does it include standard versions of the band’s most popular tunes, but there are no less than 24 previously unreleased tracks, including rehearsals, live radio broadcasts, remixes, and alternate versions. There’s also the odd tune from the band’s offshoots, Whitford/St. Holmes and the Joe Perry Project.

What more could you ask for?

Disc 1
  1. When I Needed You (Steven Tyler, pre-Aerosmith)
  2. Make It (Aerosmith)
  3. Movin’ Out (Alt. version from Aerosmith sessions)
  4. One Way Street (Aerosmith)
  5. On the Road Again (New track from Aerosmith sessions)
  6. Mama Kin (Aerosmith)
  7. Same Old Song and Dance (Get Your Wings)
  8. Train Kept A-Rollin’ (Get Your Wings)
  9. Seasons of Wither (Get Your Wings)
  10. Write Me a Letter (Live)
  11. Dream On (Aerosmith)
  12. Pandora’s Box (Get Your Wings)
  13. Rattlesnake Shake (New, from live radio brodcast)
  14. Walkin’ the Dog (Live radio brodcast)
  15. Lord of the Thighs (Live)
Disc 2
  1. Toys in the Attic (Toys in the Attic)
  2. Round and Round (Toys in the Attic)
  3. Krawitham (Instrumental)
  4. You See Me Crying (Toys in the Attic)
  5. Sweet Emotion (Toys in the Attic)
  6. No More No More (Toys in the Attic)
  7. Walk This Way (Toys in the Attic)
  8. I Wanna Know Why (Live)
  9. Big Ten Inch Record (Live)
  10. Rats in the Cellar (Rocks)
  11. Last Child (Remix)
  12. All Your Love (New track)
  13. Soul Saver (Rehearsal)
  14. Nobody’s Fault (Rocks)
  15. Lick and a Promise (Rocks)
  16. Adam’s Apple (Live)
  17. Draw the Line (Remix)
  18. Critical Mass (Draw the Line)
Disc 3
  1. Kings and Queens (Live)
  2. Milk Cow Blues (Draw the Line)
  3. I Live in Connecticut (Rehearsal)
  4. Three Mile Smile (Night In The Ruts)
  5. Let it Slide (New track from Night In The Ruts sessions)
  6. Cheese Cake (Night In The Ruts)
  7. Bone to Bone (Coney Island White Fish Boy) (Night In The Ruts)
  8. No Surprize (Night In The Ruts)
  9. Come Together (Greatest Hits)
  10. Downtown Charlie (New track)
  11. Sharpshooter (Whitford/St. Holmes by Brad Whitford and Derek St. Holmes)
  12. Shit House Shuffle (Rehearsal – Joe Perry)
  13. South Station Blues (I’ve Got The Rock ‘N’ Rolls Again – The Joe Perry Project)
  14. Riff & Roll (New track)
  15. Jailbait (Rock in a Hard Place)
  16. Major Barbara (Alt. version)
  17. Chip Away the Stone (Alt. version)
  18. Helter Skelter (Single; cover, original by The Beatles)
  19. Back in the Saddle (Rocks)
  20. Circle Jerk (hidden track) (New instrumental)

Leave a Reply