Newt’s Rock Hall inducts Mountain, the Cramps, Roy Buchanan, Nazareth, the Georgia Satellites, the New York Dolls, and the Tragically Hip


By Steve Newton

As you may have already heard, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its Class of 2019 a couple of days ago.

It includes: Stevie Nicks, the Cure, Def Leppard, the Zombies, Roxy Music, Radiohead, and Janet Jackson.

That’s right: Janet Freakin’ Jackson. That legendary rock and roller finally got recognized for her legendary rock and roll. (Cue the fervent calls to officially rename the RRHOF the Pop Music Hall of Fame.)

Hey, I used to love Roxy Music back in the day. I rocked out to the early Def Leppard albums. I even enjoy the odd Stevie Nicks tune now and again.

But still, ya gotta admit, it’s a pretty crappy class considering what might have been.

For one thing, some of the other Class of 2019 nominees would have been much better choices, in particular the MC5 (who were inducted into Newt’s Rock Hall last year). On the strength of “Kick Out the Jams” alone the MC5 should have knocked Janet Jackson out of the running. And Todd Rundgren is another 2019 nominee who wasn’t inducted. I’d rather listen to Todd Rundgren than Radiohead any day.

As I’ve been doing since 2015, whenever the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces its new inductees, I announce my new inductees to Newt’s Rock Hall. According to stringent, self-imposed rules, these have to be acts that have not already been inducted into that other, better-known Hall in Cleveland. It’s never been a problem finding amazing, overlooked bands and artists for Newt’s Rock Hall because the other Hall sucks, which is the whole point.

Since you’ve no doubt read the headline, you already know which bands I’ve selected for my Class of 2019, but here they are again, anyway, along with a YouTube clip to prove why they’re worthy.



The Cramps:


Roy Buchanan:




The Georgia Satellites:


The New York Dolls:


The Tragically Hip:


So that’s it for another year of showing up the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s fierce ineptitude. Here’s the full list of Newt’s Rock Hall inductees. Can you believe that none of these are in the RRHOF yet?

Class of 2015: Rory Gallagher, Johnny Winter, Link Wray, Iron Maiden, and Thin Lizzy.

Class of 2016: Blue Oyster Cult, Mott the Hoople, UFO, Ten Years After, and Robin Trower.

Class of 2017: Warren Zevon, Albert Collins, Jethro Tull, Ronnie Montrose, Rick Derringer, and Gary Moore.

Class of 2018: Motörhead, T. Rex, Free, the MC5, Humble Pie, and the J. Geils Band.

Class of 2019: Mountain, the Cramps, Roy Buchanan, Nazareth, the Georgia Satellites, the New York Dolls, and the Tragically Hip (yes, I’m Canadian).

See you next year, when the RRHOF will no doubt embarrass itself even more.




Leave a Reply