The riff returns with first batch of deluxe Led Zeppelin box sets


By Steve Newton

If you’re a Led Zeppelin fan–and who isn’t, apart from those indie geeks at Pitchfork–you should mark June 3 on your calendar and start putting away some spendin’ money.

That’s when the mighty Zep will release super-deluxe boxed sets of its first three albums–1969’s Led Zeppelin, 1969’s Led Zeppelin II, and 1970’s Led Zeppelin III.

Each boxed set will include the remastered album on CD, companion audio on CD, remastered album on 180-gram vinyl, companion audio on 180-gram vinyl, high-def audio download card of all content, hardbound book, and a high quality print of the original album cover.


As well as the boxed sets, Led Zeppelin’s extensive reissue program will eventually include all nine of its studio albums in chronological order, each remastered by guitarist and producer Jimmy Page.

“The material on the companion discs presents a portal to the time of the recording of Led Zeppelin,” says Page on the band’s website. “It is a selection of work in progress with rough mixes, backing tracks, alternate versions, and new material recorded at the time.”

Here’s a breakdown of the companion audio-disc track listings on the first three releases, all available June 3 in various formats:

Led Zeppelin Companion Audio-Disc: Live At The Olympia – Paris, France October 10, 1969

01. “Good Times Bad Times”/”Communication Breakdown”
02. “I Can’t Quit You Baby”
03. “Heartbreaker”
04. “Dazed And Confused”
05. “White Summer/”Black Mountain Side”
06. “You Shook Me”
07. “Moby Dick”
08. “How Many More Times”

Led Zeppelin II Companion Audio-Disc

01. “Whole Lotta Love” (alternate mix)
02. “What Is And What Should Never Be” (alternate mix)
03. “Thank You” (backing tracks)
04. “Heartbreaker” (alternate mix)
05. “Living Loving Maid” (She’s Just A Woman) (backing tracks)
06. “Ramble On” (alternate mix)
07. “Moby Dick” (alternate mix)
08. “La La” (previously unreleased)
09. “Bring It On Home” (alternate mix)

Led Zeppelin III Companion Audio-Disc

01. “The Immigrant Song” (studio outtake)
02. “Friends” (studio outtake)
03. “Celebration Day” (studio outtake)
04. “Since I’ve Been Loving You” (studio outtake)
05. “Bathroom Sound” (previously unheard instrumental version of “Out On the Tiles”)
06. “Gallows Pole” (studio outtake)
07. “That’s The Way” (studio outtake)
08. “Jennings Farm Blues” (previously unheard instrumental forerunner of “Bron-Y-aur Stomp”)
09. “Key To The Highway”/”Trouble In Mind” (previously unheard take on the blues classics)


Leave a Reply