Crosby, Stills & Nash box set benefits from some Young


By Steve Newton

I’ve always thought Crosby, Stills & Nash sounded best with a “Young” tagged on the end, so it was good to find out there are actually 18 CSN&Y tunes among this four-CD set’s massive 67 tracks. But after one run-through of these tunes, it became obvious the other three guys were no slouches, either.

While the bulk of the material on CSN is performed by the Crosby, Stills & Nash team, there are also numerous solo selections from each of them, as well as just Stills & Nash, Crosby & Nash, and the Stills offshoot, Manassas. As is common on most recently issued box sets, the program is spiced up by several previously unreleased studio and live versions of tunes, all of which are carefully annotated in the accompanying booklet.

This tract features intriguing comments from the music-makers: like Crosby on the song “Page 43” (“It’s about the mythical instruction booklet to life that we all wish we had and don’t”), Nash on “Teach Your Children” (“The idea is to write something so personal that every single person on the planet can relate to it”), and Young on “Helpless” (“It was recorded at San Francisco about 4 a.m. when everyone got tired enough to play at my speed”).

Track listing:

Disc One

  1. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes
  2. Helplessly Hoping
  3. You Don’t Have To Cry
  4. Wooden Ships
  5. Guinnevere
  6. Marrakesh Express
  7. Long Time Gone
  8. Blackbird
  9. Lady Of The Island
  10. Song With No Words (Tree With No Leaves)
  11. Almost Cut My Hair
  12. Teach Your Children
  13. Horses Through A Rainstorm
  14. Deja Vu
  15. Helpless
  16. 4 + 20
  17. Laughing
  18. Carry On/Question

Disc Two

  1. Woodstock
  2. Ohio
  3. Love The One You’re With
  4. Our House
  5. Old Times Good Times
  6. The Lee Shore
  7. Music Is Love
  8. I’d Swear There Was Somebody Here
  9. Man In The Mirror
  10. Black Queen
  11. Military Madness
  12. Urge For Going
  13. I Used To Be A King
  14. Simple Man
  15. Southbound Train
  16. Change Partners
  17. My Love Is A Gentle Thing
  18. Word Game
  19. Johnny’s Garden
  20. So Begins The Task
  21. Turn Back The Pages

Disc Three

  1. See The Changes
  2. It Doesn’t Matter
  3. Immigration Man
  4. Chicago/We Can Change The World
  5. Homeward Through The Haze
  6. Where Will I Be?
  7. Page 43
  8. Carry Me
  9. Cowboy Of Dreams
  10. Bittersweet
  11. To the Last Whale
  12. Prison Song
  13. Another Sleep Song
  14. Taken At All
  15. In My Dreams
  16. Just A Song Before I Go
  17. Shadow Captain
  18. Dark Star
  19. Cathedral

Disc Four

  1. Wasted On The Way
  2. Barrel Of Pain (Half-Life)
  3. Southern Cross
  4. Daylight Again: A. Daylight Again/B. Find The Cost Of Freedom
  5. Thoroughfare Gap
  6. Wild Tales
  7. Dear Mr. Fantasy
  8. Cold Rain
  9. Got It Made
  10. Tracks In The Dust
  11. As I Come Of Age
  12. 50/50
  13. Drive My Car
  14. Delta
  15. Soldiers Of Peace
  16. Yours And Mine
  17. Haven’t We Lost Enough?
  18. After The Dolphin
  19. Find The Cost Of Freedom


Leave a Reply