Album review: Various Artists, Big Bad Love Soundtrack (2002)



By Steve Newton

This is my favourite soundtrack album of the year, so far; I must have played it 20 times already.

It’s essentially a showcase for the rough-hewn backwoods boogie of North Mississippi hill-country blues artists Robert Belfour, T-Model Ford, Junior Kimbrough, and R. L. Burnside. The latter old-timer—with the help of harp legend James Cotton and primo string-benders Buddy Guy and Derek Trucks—really goes to town on Bob Dylan’s “Everything Is Broken”.

There’s lots more wonderful stuff, too, including superlative tracks by Tom Waits, Steve Earle (with Norman Blake on dobro), and former Television bard Tom Verlaine, who offers the funky instrumental “Sleepwalkin’ ” and joins the Kronos Quartet on the uplifting “Spiritual”.

I suggest you get on down to the record store right now and pick this sucker up.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.