Pink Floyd’s best-of collection A Foot in the Door gets vinyl release, ringing alarm clocks and all!

By Steve Newton

Hey Floyd freaks who also love vinyl, here’s some cool news!

Sony Music announced today that the band’s 2011 collection, A Foot in the Door–The Best of Pink Floyd, will be released on vinyl for the first time on September 28.

If you’re like me, you won’t mind hearing newly remastered versions of “Money”, “Wish You Were Here”, “Comfortably Numb”, and especially “Shine On You Crazy Diamond”.

The tracks have been newly mastered for vinyl by longstanding Pink Floyd associate James Guthrie, with Joel Plante, and with lacquers cut by Bernie Grundman of Grundman Mastering in Los Angeles, California,” reads the Sony press release. “The 2-LP version features the reinstated version of ‘Time’, with the ringing alarm clocks at the start of the track restored, after being omitted on the CD release.”

Aw hells yeah! “Time” just isn’t “Time” without those alarm clocks!

Here’s the full track listing:

LP1 Side A

1)     Hey you

2)     See Emily Play

3)     The Happiest Days of Our Lives

4)     Another Brick in the Wall, Part 2

5)     Have a Cigar

LP1 Side B

1)     Wish You Were Here

2)     Time / Breathe (Reprise)

3)     The Great Gig in the Sky

4)     Money

LP2 Side A

1)     Comfortably Numb

2)     High Hopes

3)     Learning to Fly

LP2 Side B

1)     The Fletcher Memorial Home

2)     Shine On You Crazy Diamond

3)     Brain Damage

4)     Eclipse


Leave a Reply