Blue Wild Angel: Jimi Hendrix Live At The Isle of Wight to be released on Blu-ray

Jimi Hendrix.Blue WIld Angel.blu-ray.06-14

By Steve Newton

As if the news about Brian Setzer’s upcoming rockabilly CD weren’t enough to keep guitar freaks satiated today, now comes word from Sony Music that its Legacy Recordings imprint will release Blue Wild Angel: Jimi Hendrix Live At The Isle of Wight on Blu-ray on June 17.

In August of 1970 the legendary guitarman performed in front of an estimated crowd of 600,000, 18 days before he chocked on his own vomit and died while intoxicated with barbiturates.

At the time he was working on what would become his posthumousCry of Love album, and such fine Cry tracks as “Freedom” and “Ezy Ryder” show up on the disc, as well as stone-cold Hendrix classics like “Foxey Lady”, “Red House”, and “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)”.

The DVD version was originally released in November of 2002, but this one’s way better because, hey–it’s Blu-ray! Here’s some of the promo material released yesterday:

The Blu-ray version of Blue Wild Angel contains all of the outstanding extra features included in the DVD, such as footage of “Hey Joe,” which was not in the original release, a behind the scenes interview with [director] Murray Lerner, rare artifacts and memorabilia, including reproductions of original tickets, festival posters, and even Hendrix’s own handwritten directions to the festival site.

Lerner’s multiple cameras present Hendrix’s distinctive guitar playing onstage like no other film, and like the DVD, the Blu-ray version allows for simultaneous viewing of multiple camera angles – expanded to include “God Save The Queen,” “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band,” “Spanish Castle Magic,” All Along The Watchtower, “Machine Gun,” “Red House,” “Foxey Lady,” and “In From The Storm.”


  1. Blue Wild Angel: Jimi Hendrix Live At The Isle Of Wight (Main Film)
  2. Introduction
  3. God Save The Queen
  4. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
  5. Spanish Castle Magic
  6. All Along The Watchtower
  7. Machine Gun
  8. Lover Man
  9. Freedom
  10. Red House
  11. Dolly Dagger
  12. Foxey Lady
  13. Message To Love
  14. Ezy Ryder
  15. Purple Haze
  16. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
  17. In From The Storm
  18. Credits



One thought on “Blue Wild Angel: Jimi Hendrix Live At The Isle of Wight to be released on Blu-ray

Leave a Reply