Brian Setzer returns to a Stray Cats vibe with Rockabilly Riot: All Original


By Steve Newton

Universal Music Canada has announced that former Stray Cat and current shit-hot guitar slinger Brian Setzer will release a straight-ahead rockabilly album on August 12.

Titled Rockabilly Riot: All Original, the disc will feature 12 Setzer-penned tracks performed in the company of pianist Kevin McKendree, bassist Mark Winchester, and drummer Noah Levy.

That means there’s no big honkin’ Brian Setzer Orchestra around to clog things up and get in the way of Setzer’s mindboggling guitar solos—like that one he played at the 1:56 mark of “Cross of Love” back in ’92.


“I think this album sounds to me a little bit like the first Stray Cats record,” said Setzer in a press release issued yesterday, “it’s rockabilly songs. It’s not just blues songs in the rockabilly style. People like to call it ‘neo-billy’ I suppose, which is some invented word that somebody came up with, but if that’s the word they want to use, I’d like to go with that because it sounds to me like it’s very modern and fresh sounding rockabilly.”

The track listing for Rockabilly Riot: All Original:

  1. Let’s Shake
  2. Rockabilly Blues
  3. Vinyl Records
  4. Lemme Slide
  5. Nothing Is A Sure Thing
  6. What’s Her Name
  7. Calamity Jane
  8. The Girl With The Blues In Her Eyes
  9. Stiletto Cool
  10. I Should Have Had A V8
  11. Blue Lights Big City
  12. Cock-a-Doodle Don’t


Leave a Reply